ᕙ(`▿´)ᕗ Jeremy's blog

Stop and Reflect About My Career

Reflecting on 2023: A Year of Tough Choices

The past year was pivotal for me. Faced with a choice between venturing into a new opportunity with a local fintech company or staying at my current job, I chose the latter. This decision wasn't made lightly. Alongside my colleagues Nazmi and Abid, we made a pact to stay another year and push our limits. It was challenging, but our determination paid off. We not only survived but thrived, building a team that's become a source of pride. My efforts to bridge the gaps within our team did not go unnoticed, resulting in a promotion to Senior Data Engineer!

"We've built a remarkably strong team, capable and at the peak of their performance."

My Career Plans for 2024: Building on Foundations and Fostering Growth

Embracing Change

Soon, we will face the inevitable goodbyes to some of our key members, including Nazmi. His departure marks not just a professional loss but a personal one as well. Nazmi's unique blend of calmness, humor, and intellectual generosity has been invaluable, particularly in his contributions to both data engineering and management insights. While his departure is bittersweet, we've promised to maintain our support for each other. His absence will be deeply felt, but the bonds we've formed will persist.

Evaluating the Decision to Stay

Periodically, I find myself pondering, "Is it time to leave?" Yet, time and again, my answer remains "Not yet." This introspection is driven by three critical questions: Is there a problem I still want to solve? Is there something new I want to learn? Is there someone I aspire to become? As long as my answers are affirmative, I know my journey here is not yet complete. This conviction keeps me anchored, ready to face the challenges ahead.

Filling the Voids and Stepping Up

The departure of seasoned team members leaves notable gaps, presenting both challenges and opportunities for growth. My ambition is not only to fill these voids but to elevate our team's capabilities beyond their current limits. Although there are moments of doubt about my capacity to lead in this capacity, my commitment to our collective success is unwavering. I am now more involved in interviewing and hiring, ensuring that our team's growth is thoughtful and maintains the integrity of what we've built together.

These blog materials really helped me understand what I need to do:

Aspiring to Be a Catalyst for Curiosity

Looking ahead to 2024, my primary goal is to serve as a catalyst for curiosity within my team. I aim to ignite and nurture a passion for learning and exploration. Curiosity is the engine that drives us to push boundaries and innovate continuously. By fostering this culture of inquiry and discovery, I am confident that we can continue to thrive, regardless of the changes we may face.

I want to take this opportunity to express my deepest gratitude to every single member of our team. I am profoundly grateful for the time and effort we have all invested in building this incredible team together. Your dedication has not only propelled us forward but has also made every challenge worthwhile. If any of you are reading this, consider this a shoutout that echoes across the Internet:

"To Nazmi, Abid, Wei Chun, and everyone else who has been part of our journey—thank you for everything. Your contributions, big and small, have been the cornerstone of our success."