ᕙ(`▿´)ᕗ Jeremy's blog

How the Tables Have Turned: A Gym Motivation Story

Today was one of those days where the weight of work made the prospect of going to the gym feel nearly impossible. The day began with a grueling 9 am meeting, followed by a slew of tasks that needed immediate attention. To make matters worse, a colleague who was supposed to be on-call was down with dengue fever, which meant I had to step in and lend a helping hand. By the time I got home, I was utterly exhausted.

Despite our exhaustion, my wife and I had made a pact to hit the gym at 9:30 pm. As the clock ticked closer to gym time, I couldn't help but question our decision. "Do we really want to go to the gym?" I asked her, half hoping she would say no. She paused, thought about it, and then said, "Yes, we should go. I know this is part of the test."

Her response caught me off guard. Usually, I'm the one pushing us to go to the gym, teasing and testing her commitment. But today, the roles were reversed. I was the one feeling lazy, and she was the one encouraging us to stick to our plan. It was a funny twist, and I couldn't help but smile. "You passed the test," I said, playing along. "Let's go to the gym."

And so, we went. It wasn't easy, but we pushed through. The tables had indeed turned, and it was a reminder of the importance of support and motivation in our fitness journey. Sometimes, we need that extra push from our loved ones to keep us on track. Today, my wife was that push, and I'm grateful for it.