ᕙ(`▿´)ᕗ Jeremy's blog

Celebrating Recognition: My Journey as a Manager

After the departure of one of my best friends at work, N, I took on two additional team members under my reporting line. Now, I manage three unique talents, each with their own intriguing set of skills.

Before N left the company in May, I had multiple conversations with him about people management and how to be an effective manager. I also read numerous blogs on what makes a good manager and tried my best to put those principles into practice. One of the key changes I made was to schedule regular one-on-ones with a proper agenda and actionable items. I wanted these sessions to be productive for both parties, ensuring we keep each other accountable.

Another important step was emphasizing transparency. I made it a point to let my team know where they could improve and to cultivate a safe environment where they could provide me with feedback. This has been crucial in helping us all grow.

Taking on these new responsibilities has been challenging. There are times when I wonder how I can manage three people when I sometimes feel lost myself. Although I don't share these doubts with my team, I navigate through this ambiguity on my own, which in hindsight, might not always be the best approach.

In June, one of my direct reports reminded me that I am doing a good job. Hearing this was incredibly gratifying and reassuring. It felt great to know that my efforts were paying off and that things were working out. I am grateful for this opportunity to manage such talented individuals and for their support and feedback, which help me become a better manager every day.

Appreciation Post

Thank you to my team for their trust and for being part of this journey. Together, we are achieving great things.