ᕙ(`▿´)ᕗ Jeremy's blog

An Enlightening Car Ride: Embracing the Power of "I Don't Know"

Today is badminton day, and as usual, I volunteered to drive a few colleagues to the badminton court since it's only a stone's throw away. On the way there, a question from my previous blog post was still lingering in my mind: "Why did no one admit they didn't know?"

In the car with me were two colleagues, DF and DL (an intern). I decided to raise this question to better understand their perspectives on why they didn't openly admit their lack of knowledge about Kubernetes during our last meeting. Their responses were quite interesting and varied.

DL mentioned that the question itself felt ambiguous. As someone responsible for upgrading Airflow, he had some understanding of Kubernetes but wasn't sure if that qualified as complete understanding. On the other hand, DF explained that rather than admitting he didn't know something, he preferred to read up on it during his free time. Both responses were reasonable, but they still didn't fully satisfy my curiosity.

I shared with them my perspective on the three types of responses people might have when faced with something they don't know:

  1. "I don't know, and I don't care": This is a valid response when the topic isn't immediately relevant to one's responsibilities or priorities.
  2. "I don't know, but I'll look it up" (and never does): This is a common response but lacks follow-through, which can be problematic.
  3. "I don't know, but I'll look it up and come back with questions": This is the ideal response, showing a proactive approach to learning and growth.

I proposed a scenario to them: Imagine an intern admitting they don't know something but expressing a willingness to learn. They then take the initiative to schedule a session to share what they've learned in depth. Wouldn't that leave an amazing impression? It demonstrates commitment, curiosity, and a proactive attitude—qualities that are highly valued.

In our fast-paced world where knowledge is constantly evolving, it's okay to admit that you don't know something and to learn at your own pace. It's also okay to have different priorities based on your current focus. Embracing the phrase "I don't know" can be powerful, as it opens the door to learning, growth, and genuine improvement.

This conversation reinforced my belief that acknowledging our knowledge gaps and being open about them can lead to a more collaborative and supportive work environment. It encourages continuous learning and helps build a culture where everyone feels safe to express their uncertainties and seek help when needed.

As we arrived at the badminton court, I felt a sense of satisfaction from our enlightening discussion. It's these small yet significant conversations that contribute to personal and professional growth, making our journeys all the more rewarding.